Freaking Out Small Children in Church is Fun!

30 Apr

This morning at church, we sat behind our friend Potassium. She and her fiance were in town visiting his family. She has a hoodie that makes me smile. Here’s the design on the back:

Dinos are fun!

Here’s a closeup of the bottom:

Purple dinos are tasty.

Funny, right? Exactly. So I was directly behind Potassium and Kid #3 was to my left. Since she has started reading recently, she enjoyed figuring out all the dino names, and she thought the bottom picture was really funny. The other two big kids were to my right, and Hubs was way over there, too, holding Baby Tay during the first song. When the second song started, she decided to bail on Dad and come hang out with Mom. The congregation was standing, and soon enough, Baby Tay’s attention turned to the pictures on the back of Potassium’s hoodie. I heard her talking about the dinos, but then she got quiet. I looked at her and saw her little eyebrows pulled together.

“That blue dinosaur really mean.”

She was quite distressed about the poor purple dinosaur and its pink blood. I kept telling her that the dino was ok and that it had band aids on its owies, but she didn’t believe me. She kept insisting that the blue dinosaur was mean. When the song was over and we were sitting down, I tapped Potassium and asked her to show Baby Tay the front of the hoodie:

All better!

All was alright with the world again, and Baby Tay went on with her morning, unperturbed. But isn’t that a great hoodie?

5 Responses to “Freaking Out Small Children in Church is Fun!”

  1. Nicola @ Lizzielane May 3, 2012 at 4:26 am #

    Really really loved reading your blog, it really made me laugh. My son loves Dinosaurs and would really love one of these hoodies.

    • That Nolen Chick May 3, 2012 at 7:18 am #

      Thanks for the kind words!

      I love that hoodie, too. It makes me smile.

  2. kelleysbreakroom May 4, 2012 at 12:17 pm #

    Omigosh, that makes me laugh. She was wearing that violent, violent hoodie in CHURCH? Well, hey, it’s the truth, isn’t it? Those things really happened. Blue dinosaurs were bitten in the neck. She’s keeping it real. (Thanks for linking up with us over at #findingthefunny this week!)

  3. Crystal Ward (@Crystal11) May 9, 2012 at 5:29 pm #

    I need that hoodie! And maybe it’s time to buy your kids that “All of my friends are dead” dinosaur book. 😉

Talk to me!

