What’s on Your DVR?

6 May

I love the DVR – especially since it is attempting to render obsolete all of those pesky commercials during my shows. For that reason alone, I think it’s my favorite home theater gadget. I tend to keep my list tidied up – I don’t like keeping any shows that have already been viewed.

So what’s on my DVR? I’ve got some winners and then I’ve got some real winners, if you get my drift. These are only the shows currently recorded – I have timers set for many, many more. Like Sherlock, Inspector Lewis, Eureka, Bones, The Legend of Korra, and Challenge (but the cake episodes only).

Winners:

  • Grimm
  • Once Upon a Time
  • CSI (the original only)
  • Criminal Minds
  • Castle
  • In Plain Sight (alas, no more – the season finale was Friday)
  • Big Bang Theory
  • NCIS
  • Phineas and Ferb (only the new episodes)
  • Mickey Mouse Clubhouse, Maisy, Team Umizoomi, Minnie’s Bow Toons (for those times we’re desperate)

Real Winners:

  • Duck Dynasty – love those redneck millionaires
  • My Big Fat Gypsy Wedding – watching Irish Travelers and Romany Gypsies in the UK is fascinating…like a train wreck
  • My Big Fat American Gypsy Wedding – because I couldn’t get enough of the other gypsies
  • Rules of Engagement – because the “old married couple” is hilarious. No, actually because Patrick Warburton is hilarious.
  • half of Alice in Wonderland – kids had to go to bed before it was over
  • America’s Funniest Home Videos – have to make sure I don’t miss the video we submitted
  • Wipeout – I hate this show, so the kids only get to watch it when I’m not around

Things Hubs has recorded and will likely never watch:

  • Secretariat – Recorded last December.
  • U2 Rattle and Hum – Recorded over a year ago.
  • Dune – the original. Recorded two years ago.
  • Chariots of Fire – Recorded two years ago.
  • The Falcon and the Snowman – Another 2-year-old recording.
  • Dead Poet’s Society – ditto the 2 years
  • Star Trek – The reboot. We OWN this movie, yet it also lives on our DVR taking up precious HD recording space.
  • Iron Man – He did watch part of this one.

He’s seen several of these already, but wants to watch them in HD on our ginormous TV. Like that’s ever going to happen. He’d rather be reading a book or playing a computer game than watching TV, so I doubt this last list of shows is ever going to get any action.

So what’s on your DVR? Or Netflix queue?

6 Responses to “What’s on Your DVR?”

  1. Christi Wynn May 7, 2012 at 1:29 pm #

    We DVR Duck Dynasty too. Love that show! Otherwise ours is an interesting mix. I’ve got:

    Grey’s Anatomy
    NCIS
    Castle
    GCB
    Bones

    He has:
    Wheeler Dealers (I admit to enjoying this one too)
    Inside West Coast Customs
    Four Wheelin
    All Girls Garage
    Xtreme 4×4
    and several other car shows that I don’t pay any attention to

    We also record a lot of HGTV and DIY channel shows and a few other shows to watch together… we have
    Love it or List it
    Property Brothers
    Bath Crashers
    House Crashers
    Renovation Realities
    Marriage Under Construction
    House Hunters and House Hunters International
    Eureka
    Duck Dynasty
    Auction Hunters

    • That Nolen Chick May 8, 2012 at 7:51 am #

      I’m afraid to start watching DIY shows. We did a remodel on a house about a decade ago and it’s taken me this long to recover from it. If I start watching those shows again, I’m afraid I’ll get the fixer-upper bug!

  2. Laura May 7, 2012 at 5:58 pm #

    Many of ours are the same…
    *Castle
    *Once Upon a Time
    *Necessary Roughness
    *Psych
    *Fairly Legal
    *Burn Notice
    *Wipeout (with you on the not fun element there)
    *Community
    *Sid the Science Kid
    *Barney (David prefers this over Sesame Street)
    *Doc McStuffins
    *Special Agent Oso
    *Eureka
    *Warehouse 13
    *Foodie stuff–Rachael Ray, Sandwich King, 10 Dollar Dinners, The Pioneer Woman
    *Shaun the Sheep, P&F, Wonder Pets (my current fave of the kid shows), Dinosaur Train

    • That Nolen Chick May 8, 2012 at 7:53 am #

      My ringtone several years ago was the theme to Wonder Pets. It was awesome! Especially because it was when they sang, “The phone! The phone is ringing! The phone! We’ll be right there!”

      Plus, Kid #2 used to sound like Ming Ming. It was so cute.

  3. Emelda May 8, 2012 at 7:18 am #

    If I had a DVR (I know I’m old school, either I watch them when they first come on, or try and catch them at a later date):
    Oh, I need a disclaimer – What I would DVR is for pure mind losing (or loser?) shows, when I can just let my mind go.

    My Big Fat Gypsy Wedding
    My Big Fat American Gypsy Wedding

    The Real Housewives of _______ (depends on the time of year)
    Interior Therapy with Jeff Lewis
    Tabatha Takes Over
    Shahs of Sunset
    Rachel Zoe Project (I seem to have a Bravo problem here)

    House Hunters International
    Love it or List it

    Any Law & Order/Law & Order SVU/Law & Order Criminal Intent episode, even those I’ve seen 100 times

    If Hannah had control of a DVR: Disney and PBS everything

    • That Nolen Chick May 8, 2012 at 7:54 am #

      I know what you mean about L&O shows. I’ll watch any episode, any time.

Talk to me!

