My Trashiest Post Yet

8 May

Yes, folks, this is going to be a trashy post. Full of trash.

I don’t know if everyone would call the stuff trash, but I do. Actually, I call it “yard trash” and Hubs and I spent the weekend working on getting it out of our backyard. We made three trips to the Eco Station (the dump) to get rid of it all. The first two pictures below are of the second trip we took with the Pinon pine needle trash. Even though that pile might not look all that big, it was. And we had to rake/shovel it all out of the truck ourselves. That was icky, hard work.

The second pile of yard trash.

The next two pictures make Kid #2 sad. She declared me a “tree killer” when we started cutting limbs off the mostly-dead ornamental plum tree outside her bedroom window. Unlike life in “The Princess Bride,” mostly dead in my backyard means that the tree must go. We actually had two trees die in our backyard over the last year. How bad a gardener must I be tokill trees?

We managed to get all of the sharp, pointy limbs in one load, but we only had to travel about a mile to get to the Eco Station near us. If we’d gone to the one where we dumped the pine needles (10-ish miles away), I doubt the whole load would’ve made it there. In case you’re wondering why we went to two different sites, it’s because the one nearer us only has dumpsters. We Hubs can throw limbs into a large dumpster, but we didn’t want to try to shovel all that pine needle trash up into one. It was hard enough just scraping it out to the ground.

Sticks of death

Stabby, pokey sticks of death

Want to know the worst part? My yard doesn’t look all that different. It’s still dirt with weeds here and there. Grass comes next.

4 Responses to “My Trashiest Post Yet”

  1. Deana May 8, 2012 at 7:19 am #

    I’ve killed trees, bushes and flowers. I feel your pain. Our mortality count for the past 12 months is 5. Two evergreens and three redtwig dogwoods. I think the drought got em. Your yard will look wonderful when you are finished. Can’t wait to see it.

    • That Nolen Chick May 8, 2012 at 7:55 am #

      Glad to know I’m not the only tree killer out there. I’m hoping the grass we get can survive me. I know it can survive droughts, so we’re good there.

  2. masteringmommybrain May 8, 2012 at 7:28 pm #

    You definitely are not the only tree killer. We try to clear out the yard every couple months, but like you, IT NEVER LOOKS DIFFERENT – ha!!!

    • That Nolen Chick May 8, 2012 at 7:41 pm #

      Maybe we can form a club: Unintentional Tree-Killers. Ooh – we can make t-shirts!

Talk to me!

