Waxing Nostalgic

11 May

Today is my eldest child’s 11th birthday.  As I was lying in bed the other night thinking about how this year, Mother’s Day is latest date it can be, I realized that it was like this the year my son was born, also. He arrived on the Friday before my first Mother’s Day, and this year his birthday is on the Friday before Mother’s Day. It’s an interesting symmetry for my pattern-loving mind.

He is the lone male in our little flock, but he handles it well. He revels in his ability to infuse the atmosphere around him with weird noises and smells. He loves comic books, superheroes, and is figuring out if he likes baseball or not.

I remember those early days and months when our little family of 2 became 3. Those seem like a distant fairy tale, days full of magic and wonder. It’s hard to believe this little sweetie pie…

…would grow into a pre-teen with weird issues (but to be fair, which pre-teendoesn’t have weird issues?).

This is a picture from this morning, after he opened presents but before school. We gave him the bat, net, tee, and practice balls. It’s a good thing he’s excited about this stuff, because he’s grounded from TV and video games for the foreseeable future. I think there will be a lot of outside playtime in his immediate future.

Happy birthday, Epic Dude!

2 Responses to “Waxing Nostalgic”

  1. Crack You Whip May 11, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

    I am getting ready to buy my son a car and it is bittersweet. I miss the baseball days and I wish I could squash him back to 11. Hope your son had a great day!

  2. Laura May 11, 2012 at 4:57 pm #

    We think you’re awesome, favorite boy cousin! Happy Birthday!

Talk to me!

