Vehicle Anxiety

30 May

This past weekend, Hubs and I made a quick decision to travel to the nearest “big city” to go car shopping. Because it’s 90 minutes away, we decided to get a hotel room. I used my mad Priceline skilz and got us a room at a 3+ star hotel for $45. Hubs kept saying “45!” the whole time we were there because he was so impressed with my bargaining ability. Plus, it was our anniversary and he thought it would be nice to get out of town to celebrate.

Not much celebrating with 4 kids in tow, though. Because we had a 2-bed suite with a sofa bed, everyone had a place to sleep. Even Baby Tay. After she managed to climb out of the pack and play, I lay down with her on the sofa bed. Hubs and I both appreciated the irony of the situation – our 17th anniversary in a decent hotel and we were sleeping in separate beds.

We are shopping for another vehicle because the balance shaft in Hubs’s ’98 Blazer is torn up. I have no idea what that means, other than the fact that when the guys at the garage looked at the oil, they found lots of metal shavings. Even I know that’s not good. So there are little pieces of metal throughout the engine now. It runs, but for how long…?

So we decided to look around for another vehicle. Easy enough, right? Nope. We don’t want to take out a loan, so we’re locked into the price range that matches our cash. We either want a vehicle big enough to haul 6 people, or something much smaller for Hubs’s 20-minute commute. Next, our brand preferences are thrown in the mix. There are some brands we won’t touch with a 10-foot pole, some we completely love, and others that are justmeh.

Then there’s private sale, dealer stock, mileage, condition, internet reviews…my head is spinning. Guess what we found on our trip? Lots of possibilities. Lots and lots and lots, but we didn’t come home with a vehicle.

I read something interesting recently. When a consumer is given too many choices, it causes anxiety. I can attest to this after our day of car shopping. I’m feeling anxious. I almost want someone else to make the decision for us. Then we can blame them when the car turns out to be a lemon.

3 Responses to “Vehicle Anxiety”

  1. iampotassium May 30, 2012 at 10:19 am #

    Ughhhh big decisions stress me out too… Good luck with the car and congratulations on your anniversary! 🙂

  2. christine May 31, 2012 at 9:14 am #

    I watched CNBC’ The Costco Craze and they reported the same thing–too many options result in people walking away empty-handed. How interesting! Best of luck in finding the right car for your family! I love my Nissan (it was made by non-unionized workers in MS), if that helps.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What’s On Your Reading List? « that nolen chick - June 10, 2012

    […] my result was that I write like Stephen King. Cool. The second time I cut and pasted my post about vehicle anxiety, it was David Foster Wallace, then I used another post (not sure which one) and got Margaret […]

Talk to me!

