A Job About Weird Jobs

6 Jun

I’ve decided to get a job, because I obviously don’t have enough to do. I’ve found a cherry freelance gig writing short articles on crazy careers, but I need some ideas on jobs.

I’ve come up with a short list, but I’d like more. This is what I have so far:

  1. movie extra
  2. sign language interpreter
  3. clown trainer
  4. cruise ship director
  5. glass blower
  6. midget wrestler referee
  7. juggler
  8. eating contest performance coach
  9. baker/cake decorator
  10. taste tester
  11. zookeeper
  12. matchmaker
  13. summer camp director
  14. weed farmer (pesky plants, not that kind of weed)

On a slightly related side-note: anybody know what kind of plant this is? I have several in my wildflower yard, and don’t know if they’re bone-fide wildflowers or plain ol’ weeds.

I know there are other cool and funky jobs out there, so this is where I need your help. Have you had a job you consider  weird? Have you heard of an unusual job and thought, “Wow! That would be so cool!”…? I just remembered that I wrote this post about weird jobs a couple of months ago. Seems like this is a theme in my life. Maybe I’m meant for this job. I could add that to the list: weird job journalist.

Wish me luck (and send me your suggestions)!

3 Responses to “A Job About Weird Jobs”

  1. Gina June 6, 2012 at 9:56 am #

    I was once a newspaper stuffer.

    What about a
    hair product tester
    dog poop scooper

  2. iampotassium June 6, 2012 at 10:59 am #

    I worked at a veterinarian’s office when I was in high school. I thought it was a pretty cool job. I worked mostly in the kennel, taking care of all the animals boarding or recovering from surgery. The longer I worked there, the more jobs I had outside the kennel. I got to assist on all sorts of procedures and learn the proper way to hold animals so they won’t hurt themselves when they are getting vaccines/nails clipped/etc… It was an awesome experience.

    I wanna see the plant because there is a plant around here that I am super allergic to that I am pretty sure is a weed but the people who live here must think differently…

  3. christine June 6, 2012 at 12:28 pm #

    I want to know about those people who work at Liberty Tax dressed as Uncle Sam or the Statue of Liberty from January to April and wave, play guitar, dance, and generally create merriment on the side of the road.

    I had a job when I was 15 with an insurance agent where I called people who haven’t paid to let them know that their insurance expired.

    And for the Ohio Dept. of Transportation, I spent an entire summer pounding rust off of the trucks and plows to prepare them for painting.

    My friend caught, took blood from, tagged, and released wild birds all around the city.

    Oh so many jobs to write about.

Talk to me!

