I Am NOT Vader in Drag, But I’m Kind of a Big Deal

27 Oct

I enjoy dressing up for Halloween. I especially enjoy when I find or think of a costume that’s unusual. Better yet is when I have an unusual costume that I think is super-ultra cool. Our local businesses participate in our Trick or Treat on Main Street every year on the Friday before Halloween, so we celebrated Happy CandyOverload Night yesterday. Thousands hundreds of people all mill around a two-block area while our children practice their sucrose hunting and gathering techniques. Here’s my costume:

The ability to destroy a planet is insignificant next to the power of the force…of pink.

Why this? I saw a picture on the interwebs a couple of months ago and really REALLY wanted to be Pink Vader.

How awesome is this kiddo? She was at the San Diego ComiCon. Total and complete awesomeness.

As soon as I saw the picture, I started scouring eBay for a pink dress (got one from Hong Kong for $23) and a helmet. Bought pink spray paint and found some awesome steampunk-ish boots at a garage sale for $3.

I got a lot of looks and laughs, points and stares, but most importantly, one guy stopped me and asked, “Are you the Darth Vader Princess?”

I gave him a puzzled look, then quickly realized he couldn’t see it through my fab mask, so I said, “I’m just Pink Vader.”

He said, “I overheard someone say their favorite princess here was Darth Vader.”

Yes, people were talking about me! This is my dream come true! All I can hope for now is a photo in our local paper and I’ll be happy for life. Or at least until next August when I start thinking about Halloween again.

5 Responses to “I Am NOT Vader in Drag, But I’m Kind of a Big Deal”

  1. iampotassium October 27, 2012 at 3:22 pm #

    Sooooo Cobalt and I kind of think that this is the best Halloween costume ever. Good job! We love it! 🙂

  2. Laura October 29, 2012 at 5:12 pm #

    Fantastic!

  3. Glory October 31, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    LOVE IT!!! And Damn… why didn’t I think of that? I’m going as a pregnant chick with a belly shirt and unlaundered yoga pants, but that’s my everyday gear. If ya, don’t mind, I’ll be posting your pic with a link over on my blog (www.3monkeysandamartini.com) tomorrow, featuring the best adult costumes I’ve found this year. Yours is my fav!

    • That Nolen Chick October 31, 2012 at 3:09 pm #

      Yay! Glad you liked it. And I think we must be on the same wavelength – I wore your costume a couple of years ago! Great minds, right?

  4. Becky H December 9, 2012 at 6:07 am #

    My daughter was still talking about your costume this weekend. Your photo on Facebook made quite the impression on her!

Talk to me!

