Dear America – It’s My Fault

8 Nov

Election day came and went. Half the country was happy the morning after, while the other half was less so. For reasons that may become clear in a moment, I’m not going to disclose where I landed.

I was in the shower on Wednesday morning when a thought hit me (I always do my best thinking in the shower – don’t you?). I was thunderstruck  and disappointed at the revelation. It’s MY fault America is so divided. During election times especially, we always hear about “those people” who vote the party line without looking any deeper. I realized I was one of those people.

Want to know how I know? I voted for 6 particular people because they were in a certain political party – I can’t tell you anything about them other than their names, political affiliation, and a few tidbits I picked up in soundbites over the last few months.

I’m so ashamed.

I’ve been feeling smug and superior because I knew my party was correct, therefore, I didn’t need to bother with voting records or platforms, nor must I figure out how I really feel about the issues. How I feel, not how some big wig politico, movie star, or even one of those John Q. Public people on the political ads tell me I should feel.

I’m so sorry, America. I’ve jumped to conclusions, made hasty decisions, and embraced my tunnel vision when it came to politics. I’ve contributed to the schism that’s ripping us apart. Going forward, I will start figuring out how I really feel about the issues. I will educate myself about the candidates. I will not only look at the people in my party, I will (gulp) look at the other parties.

I’ve let you down, America. It won’t happen again.

 

Talk to me!

