Subtracting $233, Adding Insult to Injury

19 Jan

Remember my bellyaching about how much my glasses cost? The plot thickens. I got a call on Wednesday from my eye doctor’s office.

“This is Beyonce from your eye doctor’s office.” (Her name’s not really Beyonce, in case you were wondering.) “I saw that you were in last week when I was out.” (I wondered why she wasn’t there. She’s the snarky one that I don’t like very much. I was glad to not see her that morning when I was picking out my glasses.) “I also saw that you canceled your order in a timely manner and the staff member returned your check. However, he did not cancel the order with the lab.”

My heart thought about stopping for a moment. It wasn’t a true freak-out moment, but I could imagine her next words would be “and you owe us $583.”

Instead, not-so-snarky-but-still-a-little-snarky Beyonce said, “They came in today and I can offer them to you today only for $350. Otherwise I have to throw them away.”

Too bad I already shelled out $425 for the identical pair from FrameLot.com last week, otherwise I’d be all over that. But my big question is why they can’t offer the glasses to me for that price in the beginning?

 

4 Responses to “Subtracting $233, Adding Insult to Injury”

  1. mutantreptile January 19, 2013 at 10:55 am #

    That is outrageous. It is so expensive to be going blind! I’ve gone through a similar experience as well. The last couple of years I’ve been getting my glasses from Warby Parker, otherwise my prescription can cost nearly $600 too.

  2. veryVERYbusymom January 19, 2013 at 11:44 am #

    Ouch! Glad I got Lasik a couple of years ago. In a few years it will pay for itself.

  3. Brenda Houlton Kelley January 19, 2013 at 12:01 pm #

    I’m thinking about Lasik. too. My glasses cost upwards of $500, too, and I still take them off to see up close.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Swan Dive Off My High Horse | that nolen chick - February 21, 2013

    […] person, I’m overcharged for necessary eyewear? And then how my optical shop called and added insult to injury? The story doesn’t end when my glasses […]

Talk to me!

