The Great Dialect Quiz

7 Jun

Earlier this week, I followed a link to some dialect maps that NCSU grad student Joshua Katz published. Apparently, here in America, we speak differently from one another. Of course, everybody knows that Southerners say “y’all” and Bostonians often drop the Rs off their cahs, but there’s more than that.

Kelley, of the internet’s famous Kelley’s Breakroom, issued a challenge to those of us hanging out in there yesterday: make a video and show the world how you talk. So I did.

Then Tardie Sue wanted to get in on the fun. She has a couple of little fans in her video, though.

 

7 Responses to “The Great Dialect Quiz”

  1. kelleysbreakroom June 8, 2013 at 1:29 pm #

    You are CRACKING ME UP! Tardie Sue! I love April AND Tardie Sue. Do you do this little act on the road? You should! Ha! I love how you are saying “crayfish”. I have never said “crayfish”. Crayfish. I don’t think I can change. You are so right about “germ-infested”. That is a better word! It was fun seeing your sweet girl’s face because it reminded me of that hilarious picture of her and her hair! Thanks SOOO much for linking this up!

    • That Nolen Chick June 12, 2013 at 11:19 pm #

      😀
      Glad you enjoyed it! So what’s my *real* accent, and what is Tardie Sue’s?

  2. Christine June 11, 2013 at 12:07 pm #

    Here, here! I agree that everything is a coke! I still say y’all and all y’all (really plural). Living on the East Coast, I sometimes have to adjust my phrases such as “I’m fixing to do that” to “I am about to do that.” LOVE that you pronounce words correctly:)

    • That Nolen Chick June 12, 2013 at 11:20 pm #

      I think I still say “fixin’ to,” except I think it comes out “fixin’ a” – I’m fixin’ a get up and go to bed.

  3. OldDogNewTits June 12, 2013 at 10:38 pm #

    Wow. Does your shrink know about Tardie Sue?

    I’M JUST KIDDING!!

    Great job. And I loved your precious little fan.

    • That Nolen Chick June 12, 2013 at 11:22 pm #

      Yeah, Tardie Sue has some issues. 😉

      The little fan followed Tardie Sue after she emerged from getting her hair did. That hair is like the Pied Piper – all sorts of things follow it around.

  4. Mel June 13, 2013 at 5:54 am #

    OMG! I’m cracking up. You are too cute. “Tardie Sue” is a little spicy!! Loved you fan. 🙂 Great job!

Talk to me!

